Escola Internacional do Algarve

0

Posted by upbeat | Posted in Featured, International Education | Posted on October 24, 2010

Headmaster John Butterworth in the school library

Headmaster John Butterworth in the school library

I very much enjoyed my visit last Tuesday to the International School of the Algarve, the largest private school in the south of Portugal. The school offers teaching at all levels (3-18) through a National Section (following the Portuguese Ministry of Education programme) and an International Section (following a modified English National Curriculum).

Headmaster John Butterworth gave me a very warm welcome and took me on a tour around the school. Pupils and staff I met were very friendly and it was really interesting to see the young people engaged in their lessons across the school.

I had a chat with John about a range of education topics from staff development to ICT issues. I shared with him our work in Dumfries & Galloway through the application of video conferencing for pupil lessons and staff development. We had an interesting chat around the possibilities of establishing a link with his school to some of our schools back in the UK. I hope to keep in touch with John and possibly establish a collaborative project with teachers and/or pupils in the school, which helpfully, is on the same timeline as the UK for much of the year.

Minus temperatures back in the UK this week; but the weather here in Portugal has been beautiful!

IMG_7575IMG_7577

Write a comment

Skip to toolbar